Company News

ANSI Board names volunteer leaders for the year 2011

ANSI announced names of volunteer leader for 2010
ANSI annouced its new Board members and Officers for the term beginning January 1, 2011

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Board of Directors has announced their new members and officers for the term beginning January 1, 2011.

Arthur E. Cote, P.E., supported by the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), was re-appointed for a third and final one-year term as ANSI's chairman of the Board.

Supporting the chairman will be four vice chairs: Sharon K. Stanford, director, standards administration at the American Dental Association, will serve her first term as vice chair. Belinda Collins, Ph.D., director, technology services for the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) was re-elected for a second and final two-year term. Laura E. Hitchcock, corporate project manager, external standards for the Boeing Company, and James A. Thomas, president, ASTM International, continue in their respective positions. Robert W. Noth continues to serve as immediate past chairman.

The following individuals have been elected to the Board as Directors-at-Large for terms beginning January 1, 2011:

  • William Berger, managing director, standards, American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
  • Keith Bird, senior policy fellow for workforce and postsecondary education, Corporation for a Skilled Workforce
  • Patrick B. Davis, program manager, Vehicle Technologies Program Office, U.S. Department of Energy (DOE)
  • Carol Herman, director, standards management staff, Center for Devices and Radiological Health (CDRH) Standards Program, U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
  • Kevan Lawlor, president and CEO, NSF International
  • Mary Logan, president, Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation (AAMI)
  • James E. Matthews, director, technical standards and standards policy, Corning Incorporated
  • Alexander McMillan, director, global standards and trade, Rockwell Automation
  • Susan Miller, president and CEO, Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions, Inc. (ATIS)
  • William Raisch, executive director, InterCEP, New York University
  • Claire Ramspeck, director of technology, American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-Conditioning Engineers  (ASHRAE)
  • Paris Stavrianidis, general manager, FM Approvals, LLC
  • James Turner, senior counsel and director of energy programs, Association of Public and Land Grant Universities (A-P-L-U)
  • Donald Wright, director of standards, Lexmark International.

In addition to this, the following Board members will serve as the Member Forum chairs: Kathleen Thuner (Consumer Interest Forum), Roberta Nelson Shea (Company Member Forum), Greg Saunders (Government Member Forum), and Fred Hayes (Organizational Member Forum).

Individuals retiring from the Board at the end of 2010 include:

  • Colin B. Church, voluntary standards and international activities coordinator, Consumer Product Safety Commission
  • Donald R. Deutsch, vice president, standards strategy and architecture, Oracle
  • Bruce A. Harding, professor of mechanical engineering technology, Purdue University
  • Barbara L. Nichols, chief executive officer, CGFNS International
  • Ronald Silletti, corporate program director of standards, IBM Corporation

Each of the retiring members was recognized for his past service to the Institute.

The members and staff of the ANSI Federation express their gratitude and thanks to all of these individuals for their many contributions and efforts in support of the Institute and the U.S. voluntary consensus standardization and conformity assessment community.

Download PDF Version

Other news
Related links
Related news
View all news from

Browse News by

Product CategoryMonthCompany