Company News

Indianapolis fire fighter Thomas H. Miller elected General Secretary-Treasurer

Published on 27 January 2010

The IAFF is the leading advocate in North America for the safety and training of fire fighters and paramedics
Indianapolis fire fighter selected to become officer at International Association of Fire Fighters
Long-time Indianapolis fire fighter Thomas H. Miller was selected to become the General Secretary-Treasurer of the International Association of Fire Fighters, which represents nearly 300,000 paid, professional fire fighters in the United States and Canada.

The General Secretary-Treasurer is the second ranking officer in the IAFF.

"I am honored to assume this awesome responsibility," Miller said.

Miller began his 37-year tenure on the Indianapolis Fire Department in 1968. He was elected a trustee of the Indianapolis Metropolitan Professional Firefighters Local 416 in 1971, and he was elected as vice president in 1974.

Miller served as president of the Professional Firefighters Union of Indiana, the state association of the IAFF, from 1978 until 2002. He served as the IAFF's 8th District Vice President - representing Indiana, Ohio, Illinois, Kentucky and Michigan - from 2000 until his election today as General Secretary-Treasurer of the IAFF. Miller retired from the Indianapolis Fire Department as a captain in December 2005.

"Tommy Miller is a smart, skillful leader whose breadth of experience and thorough knowledge of the IAFF make him the obvious choice to help oversee this union," IAFF General President Harold A. Schaitberger said.

Miller was appointed in 1986 by former Governor Robert Orr to the 1977 Police Officers and Firefighters Pension and Disability Fund Advisory Board. He was reappointed by four successive governors and became chairman of the advisory board in 1990. A former member of the U.S. Navy, Miller served two tours of duty in Vietnam aboard the U.S.S. Tioga County.

Miller succeeds Vincent J. Bollon, a former New York City fire fighter, who retired on January 15. Bollon was elected General Secretary-Treasurer in 2008, and Miller will complete the unexpired four-year term.

Download PDF Version

Other news
Related links
Related news
View all news from

Browse News by

Product CategoryMonthCompany