Industry News

FEMA provides funds to help break the repetitive disaster damage scenario

PA program provides federal funds to
reimburse a minimum of 75% of the
costs to restore disaster damages

FEMA’s PA program restores disaster-damaged infrastructure to pre-disaster conditions.

Federal assistance may be available to help Nebraska communities rebuild infrastructure to higher, more disaster-resistant standards and state officials are encouraging local governments to take advantage of that funding.

The assistance is part of the aid that becomes available following a federally-declared disaster.  Fifty-three Nebraska counties were made eligible for federal Public Assistance (PA) as a result of the severe storms, flooding and tornadoes that began June 1.

“Generally, the PA program restores disaster-damaged infrastructure to pre-disaster conditions,” said Stephen R. Thompson, who is directing the current federal recovery efforts in Nebraska for the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). “But when it is cost effective and technically feasible, it makes sense to rebuild to higher standards that can prevent future loss.”

FEMA’s PA program provides federal funds to reimburse a minimum of 75% of the costs for removing debris, conducting emergency measures and repairing levees, roads, bridges, public utilities, water control facilities, public buildings and parks. Mitigation funding may be considered in each project category.

Over 50 Nebraskan counties are eligible for FEMA's PA program

"Studies show that every $1 paid toward mitigation saves an average of $4 in future disaster-related costs,” said Al Berndt, assistant director of the Nebraska Emergency Management Agency (NEMA). "By adding mitigation money to repair costs, our goal is to reduce or eliminate damages from future disasters of a similar nature.”

As part of the process for applying for disaster assistance, experts from NEMA and FEMA help applicants identify projects that will qualify for the special mitigation program. Officials urge applicants to take advantage of the funds.

The 53 Nebraska counties eligible for PA are: Antelope, Arthur, Blaine, Boone, Boyd, Brown, Burt, Cass, Chase, Cherry, Cheyenne, Colfax, Cuming, Custer, Dodge, Douglas, Frontier, Garden, Garfield, Greeley, Harlan, Hayes, Holt, Howard, Keya Paha, Knox, Lincoln, Logan, Loup, Madison, McPherson, Morrill, Nance, Nemaha, Nuckolls, Otoe, Perkins, Phelps, Pierce, Platte, Richardson, Rock, Sarpy, Saunders, Sherman, Sioux, Stanton, Thomas, Valley, Washington, Wayne, Webster and Wheeler.

Download PDF Version

Other news
Related links
Related news
View all news from

Browse News by

Product CategoryMonthCompany